Foodies I want to Share This With You

Blackberry corn cake

I was reading Family Circle Magazine, I read it for the recipes and I found one for Blackberry Corn Cakes.  Coincidently, I just happened to have blackberries in my fridge that I wanted to do something with so I decided to try this recipe.  I really think the recipe had a nice balance of  flour and corn meal. The finished product tastes like a muffin.

I thought I would share the recipe with you and I hope you enjoy it!

1 cup plus 1 tbsp all purpose flour

3/4 c fine yellow corn meal

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 c granulated sugar

2/3 c milk

6 tbsp melted unsalted butter

2 eggs

12 oz blackberries

Heat oven to 350. Butter and flour a 9 x 9 baking pan. In a bowl mix 1 cup of the flour, the corn meal baking powder and salt. In separate bowl whisk sugar, milk, butter and eggs. Fold dry mixture into wet.

Toss blackberries with remaining 1 tsp of flour and gently fold into the mix.

Transfer to a baking pan. Bake for 40-45 minutes

 

 

2 thoughts on “Foodies I want to Share This With You

  1. Pingback: Have a Foodie on your Holiday List? | Just Read Says Suz

Leave a Reply

